top of page
  • Writer's pictureXana ASMR

How ASMR Helped Me to Sleep?

Discover with me what's ASMR, how I started enjoying it, and Xana ASMR as my way of giving back!

 

Have you ever considered the possibility of don’t be able to sleep (well) for days? How do you think you would feel? Do you think you would be able to think right? Or even worst, are you currently a person with sleep problems? Either way, you must know that this is more common than what we want to admit. There are even some people that can’t make conscience that they are not sleeping as they should, because of the simple fact that they do sleep, even for a few hours. If you want to know how ASMR helped me to sleep, or what ASMR is anyway, please keep reading!


So, like I was saying, sleep problems are very common. In the case of a slight lack of sleep, for example, maybe you think an easy and free solution will be take some naps at afternoon or night, or maybe just a lot of coffee! Sadly, not everyone has success with these options, and not to mention those who have serious sleep problems, who I’m sure they have tried all and even more.


Thankfully, once you decide to search for some professional help, they are hundreds of therapies and treatments. However, they could be so expensive (or sometimes non-helpful at all) that some people finally decide to don’t do anything. Sometimes you can’t sleep at all, no matter what you try. So, there will be another easy, free, non-painful and non-invasive way to try get back the ability to sleep? ASMR definitely is!


What’s ASMR, then?


If we would ask each ASMR fan, I’m sure a lot of them came to this wonderful world looking for help with the exact same sleep problems or a lot of stress. So, ASMR means Autonomous Sensorial Meridian Response. According to The Washington Post (2014), "ASMR is described as a pleasurable tingling that begins in the head and scalp, shimmies down the spine and relaxes the entire body". For me, it's a very unique form of discovering the magic sounds of the world, through a deep relaxation and entertainment audiovisuals. So, ASMR videos are not only known as an entertainment, also as a therapy. In my case, it was.


My ASMR Story


Back in 2016 summer, I was one of those people who couldn’t sleep. I even started to have constantly and repetitive nightmares every night (or mornings!). For some of you, this could sound familiar, considering that we live in a complex and, sometimes, overwhelming world. Actually, I think it’s completely normal to experiment stress situation one in a while that can give you sleeping problems. But my night terrors in that particular time were specifically produced by a politic, economic and social conflict in my country; one that took hundreds of lives. Also, as if that was not enough, I was trying to finish my thesis to graduate from college with no much success. With no sleep for days, how could I be going to produce and write down my research? Imagine how great I felt (yeah, right).


A year before that, the ASMR term came to my life when I watched a PlayGround video. By chance, one of them was about this revolutionary community of YouTubers. And even when I didn’t search that kind of videos right away, a year after, the same letters, “A-S-M-R”, came to my head. Desperate for relaxation and peace, so I could sleep at least for one night, I searched on YouTube the same strange word, just like that.


What did I found? Thousands of channels, videos, playlists… I couldn’t believe the quantity of content there existed of something I heard about just once. For the same reason, even when the PlayGround video was very pedagogic about it, it took me a few days and a lot of YouTube users comments to understand what ASMR was about. Still, I was impressed by the immediate effect of ASMR on me. That night I started to sleep like a baby again. And today, every time I just want to relax or entertain, I just search for ASMR videos. Well, I’m lying: the ASMR videos come to me every week (sometimes every day) through the YouTube notifications about the channels I subscribe to.


Xana ASMR: My Way of Giving Back


After this satisfactory start and almost three years in the ASMR world, I just want to give back everything I’ve received from this community. All YouTubers I have followed since day one have been so kind, receptive, and emphatic and devoted to the ASMR community, that I just wish to be able to help people, just like they helped me. One fact you should know about ASMR is that it’s not a thing of days, weeks or months. For what I have seen, this way of relaxation or entertain is a thing for whole life; every ASMR videos fan I have indirectly known on the Social Media have never stopped watching this kind of contents since they discovered it, including me.


The above suggests that the ASMR community needs more content producers every day. Also, the demand of ASMR videos has diversified so much that YouTubers can offer today personalized videos for the “clients”. But I don’t only dream with quality and creative videos on my YouTube channel, the one I just started; or thousands of followers on my Instagram account. I want something BIG: an useful and entertain portal about ASMR that make us a better community.


So, will you help me to give back? You can do it supporting my channel with subscriptions, follows, likes and comments!


brush, microphone, hand, nails, first asmr video, asmrtist





Have you seen My First ASMR Video?







Thank you so much for reading!


Xoxo,

Xana ASMR

bottom of page